Prom 2015 – cheap and cheerful

Prom 2015

This will be my third and final prom. In terms of prom styles, I’d like to believe I’ve covered the basics. I’ve done the short-and-sweet style (I oozed girlishness in a short pink dress) and last year I did the longer ‘I’m an adult’ style (this time a more revealing number- long navy blue with a low back). I found that with a long dress there were a number of restrictions, for example, walking. Walking in a long dress is a nightmare. This year, I’m trying something new. On another note, I don’t believe in spending a lot of money on a prom. I see clothes as an investment; yes, spending a little extra can be worth it but when I see girls saving up to buy a Sherri Hill prom dress I feel disgruntled. It’s more than likely that they’ll only wear that dress once, to me it’s such a waste. My prom price will come out easily under £100. Spending over that amount just isn’t worth it.

P1050844P1050846P1050847 P1050848

  • Playsuit- TopShop £38
  • Shoes – These were a total find in a charity shop, £3. Originally New Look.
  • Necklace and ring – both from TopShop, the necklace was £15 and the ring was £3. They’re semi precious stones.
  • Palette – I’ve had my makeup done professionally before but it’s not for me, instead I’m going to stick with my ‘It Palette’ in nude from Sephora. $32 (I bought mine in France and I can’t remember the price in euros)
  • Brushes – Real Techniques core collection set which was £16.99
  • Foundation – Rimmel ‘Wake Me Up’ Foundation in shade ‘True Ivory’ (£7.99). This foundation had a healthy, dewy finish which is great for summer. The coverage is pretty good and it lasts for a good few hours.
  • Nail varnish – a white shade by Barry M’s gel finish range. Extremely long-lasting but takes quite a few coats.
  • Lipstick – It’s a sort of coral shade with tiny particles of gold glitter. It’s from Collection and the shade is passionate fruit. (£2.99)
4 thoughts on “Prom 2015 – cheap and cheerful

Leave a Reply

